Baby Steps into HDR

This past year I have mostly been focusing on my film photography, but I do still tend to carry my digital Fuji X-E2 in my camera bag. It is often useful for quick family pictures and for shots I want to use immediately. Recently, I discovered that Adobe Lightroom CC has the ability to merge RAW files to create HDR images, and thought I would give it a try.

I entered into this a little bit tentatively, because in general I don’t like the unnatural look of some HDR shots, and really don’t care for the fake HDR effects that are common in various phone apps. My goal with it is less to produce an effect, than to better reproduce landscapes as I see them, with full detail and proper exposure in both the foreground and the sky. By no means is this revolutionary, but it is a tool I think I would like to add to my photographic arsenal.

DSCF5248-HDR

Fuji X-E2, Fuji XF 16-55mm f/2.8-4. Three exposures merged in Lightroom.

DSCF5829-HDR

Fuji X-E2, Fuji XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4, Three exposures merged in Lightroom

Leave a Reply

